Safety First

Whilst working hard on site and most certainly not getting up to any shenanigans with the crew, I looked around me and realized I was missing an integral part of my field kit.

Oh! You got me with your Avonlea point!

Oh! You got me with your Avonlea point! Help! Help!

 

 

Weee!! Blowing in the hot air vents!

Weee!! Blowing in the hot air vents!

Oh, better not drown like the baby on the bucket - it's those big heads!

Oh no, better not drown like the baby on the bucket – it’s those big heads!

How can I expect to get any respect around here without a snappy looking high-vis field vest? If there is one thing oil and gas companies like it is safety – safety gear, safety certificates, safety checks, safety forms, safety inspectors, safety awareness, safety audits, surprise safety audits – it goes on and on. For this project we had to do 7 safety courses and 3 safety orientations, and that seems about average. Heaven forbid we get a paper cut or trip over a branch.IF

Some days I don’t know why they don’t make us wrap ourselves in bubble wrap. But, regardless, I set about sewing myself a snappy vest from a much larger old, abandoned safety vest.

I was pretty pleased with myself and my little vest until I tried it on. It would appear that life on the road has given me a bit more of a belly than I realized and my vest looks suspiciously like an Aladdin vest (where is my magic carpet?!). But I am also a tad lazy, so it will simply have to do for now. Maybe I’ll start going to the gym and work off the weight….or maybe not.

Oh yeah, now nothing can hurt me!

Oh yeah, nothing can hurt me now!

2 thoughts on “Safety First

Leave a Reply

