Oasis in the Desert

This waterfall is not big enough, I'm still all melty.

This waterfall is not big enough, I’m still all melty.

After baking my brain on Masada, there is nothing like a refreshing dip in a waterfall to help me feel human/monkey again. En Gedi is a nature reserve was some good hiking trails, a couple waterfalls, tons of animals (ibex and rock hyrax) and a splash of archaeology.IMG_3524

That's more like it!

That’s more like it!

Sadly, with the low rainfall in the country over the last year or two the waterfalls weren’t quite as ferocious as I remembered them being, but the water was still icy cold and refreshing.

Yes, I think this is how I shall do my floors.

Yes, I think this is how I shall do my floors.

After a dip in the pools and a little drying off in the sun, it was off to check out the mosaics at the third century C.E synagogue just before they closed up for the day. The mosaics include a curse to anyone who reveals the secrets of ‘the city”. Of course, no one knows for sure what that secret is – oooh a mystery! IMG_3575

We did find this cool plant outside the mosaics, it’s called calotropis-procera? or sodom apple – the fibers inside of it were used to make wicks for oil lamps. Cool but I doubt that was the secret of the city – must keep looking for that one.

I've got one! Now what?

I’ve got one! Now what?

One thought on “Oasis in the Desert

Leave a Reply

