Bring on the Fishies

Ah my water chariot awaits.

Ah my water chariot awaits.

For something a bit different, we decided to take a catamaran ride out to some good snorkeling on the reef. Despite the rain of the day before (I think two little old ladies hexed us), the weather held out beautifully and the fish were in fine form.

I thought we could be friends but I think he wanted to eat me.

I thought we could be friends but I think he wanted to eat me.

Alas, despite having two underwater cameras I brilliantly neglected to bring either of them to Mexico. So, you will simply have to imagine the diverse fish that swam about the reef for us (think Finding Nemo).

Fact: manatees love lettuce.

Fact: manatees love lettuce.

Afterwards we swam with some dolphins and manatees. Overall, a fun day in and out, and in and out of the water with only some minor sunburns to show for it.

IMG_5280

Manuel and I baking in the sun.

The next day we visited Talum, there are some very well-preserved structures, but dear lord was it ever hot there. Unlike at Coba and Ek Balam, much of the jungle foliage has been removed from the site making it much easier to see the structures and much harder to find some shade to cool off in. But I did find a local friend to show me around, Manuel the Monkey. He was very informative about the beach where canoes would bring goods to trade from Guatemala, and now sea turtles come to lay their eggs, houses with cenotes beneath them, the paint that would’ve covered the buildings originally, and the Temple of the Descending God (during the summer solstice the sun glows directly in the center of it).

Temple of the Descending God is the tippy building on the left

Temple of the Descending God is the tippy building on the left

A fierce looking face

A fierce looking face

Checking out some of the original red paint that would've covered much of the city

Checking out some of the original red paint that would’ve covered much of the city

 

 

One thought on “Bring on the Fishies

Leave a Reply

