To Avdat for Incense

Take me to Avdat!

Take me to Avdat!

Avdat is one of the sites I haven’t been to since my first or second time in Israel, so some aspects seemed quite novel and new and some areas woke up sleepy parts of my memory from my undergrad.

They must have been giants

They must have been giants

The city was the 62nd station on the Incense Route, and what started as a small Nabatean settlement grew into a much larger village until a huge earthquake put an end to things, as they tend to do.

Cult of the Sock Monkey? Has a nice ring to it.

Cult of the Sock Monkey? Has a nice ring to it.

There is an rather spacious religious area, and even a bath house. Although I can’t say that I understand the bathhouse location which is at the bottom of the hill – by the time you climb back up to the city you’d be sweaty and filthy again. IMG_7227

Two favorite things about the site: arches everywhere and the caves. I have a thing for arches, there is just something so pleasing in their shape, and I loved how the ones here are frequently the only thing spanning overhead.

Welcome to my new home

Welcome to my new home

And subterranean living, who wouldn’t want to get behind that in the full heat of summer? The interconnecting rooms are spacious, and cool, I’m sure some were used for keeping the precious wine and oil from spoiling in the heat, but some look as though they’d be used for habitation as well.

2 thoughts on “To Avdat for Incense

Leave a Reply

