The Life of a Hobo

Apologies on the long lapse in posts, it’s been a busy time for me!

The old hovel!

The old hovel!

At some point last year my sister and I decided that we now longer liked our cramped, cracking, mold-filled tiny house, but we do love our location… Thus began the long ordeal of knocking down said little house and replacing it with something bigger and better that wasn’t going to give us the black lung or fall down around our ears, and had a nice big office.

Good bye house

Good bye house

However, this course of action meant that we would have nowhere to live until the house was completed. On one of my breaks from fieldwork I returned home and we packed away all of our worldly goods into a shipping container, leaving out what we hoped would be enough to get us through the ensuing months.

The footings in place.

The footings in place.

We had hoped and crossed our fingers that I would be in the field for most of it, living a luxurious life in random little hotel rooms scattered across the province and my sister would live in the treehouse at our parent’s place (it’s cozy and a bit nicer than it sounds).

Foundations starting to take shape

Foundations starting to take shape

However, field work wrapped up sooner than the house was ready due to some annoying electrical delays and thus I was cast upon the kindness of my friends to take me in and put up with me until we could get possession.

It looked so small on paper!

It looked so small on paper!

They promised we’d be in before the holidays and we were, just barely. There are some things left to be completed but I’ll put up with that since I get to sleep in my own bed again!

Mostly done!

Mostly done!

 

Leave a Reply

